Thursday, 30 October 2008

Figment/Mash - Up Productions = Jay-z; The Motown Album

This post is one of my own projects which i did around the time that the internet was flooded with American Gangster mash ups and i decided to do a Black Album mash up since the onslaught of those had died down.

I sampled all tracks from the classic Motown label to create new beats for Jay's Black Album acapellas.

Semantik, administrator for the excellent website Crate Kings had this to say

"With all the American Gangster remix albums popping up lately; we tend to forget about all the previous joints that Hov blessed us with. Figment of Mash-Up Productions drops a gem on us with the release of The Motown Album, which combines Jay’s Black Album with classics such as “If I Were Your Woman”, “Neither One of Us”, and “Love Hangover.” It’s no doubt that the Figment was successfully able to take a handful of Motown joints and provide just enough grit to what I originally considered to originally be a lackluster and overproduced release. I have to admit that I was surprisingly impressed with his attention to detail, especially with the restyled organ sample featured in the remake of “Public Service Announcement."

Download it HERE

Sunday, 26 October 2008

Amede & The Soundsmith - The Underground

The Underground is a new free digital release from London pair Amede and The Soundsmith described by the duo themselves as "a new phase of their musical journey pulling away from the soulful vocals for a while and exploring their unhealthy addiction to beats!"

Inspired by The London Underground system, and intended to give a sense of progression and journey into the future - it does just that with a mix of breakbeat style drums, a nice low bassline and some ghostly key chords which break up the digital sound nicely.

I found it a welcome change to see a group brave enough to release an instrumental single, but the track is good enough and as an insrumental in a musical world currently governed by pop parafenalia and one hit wonders it does well to hold the listeners attention for the whole 3 minutes and 44 seconds. From the minute i pressed play the edgy drum loop and sub bassline had me nodding my head and i could easily imagine an artist like Roots Manuva or Kano on it which displays a tremendous example of versatility, echoed again by the "about us" section on the website "We just want to make good music, whether it's short raw beats, vocal based, down-tempo, or hip hop soul."

In conclusion, the track is a heavy beat sure to break up the monotony of the tired contents of ones Ipod and get heads noddin straight away. I'm eager to hear more from Amede and The Soundsmith in the future and i highly recommend you download anything this pair offer - particularly as this one is FREE!

Download it at -
MySpace at -
Website at -

Tuesday, 14 October 2008

Evil Ed & Conspicuous "The get Together"

The dynamic duo that are Evil Ed & Conspicuous have blessed us with a the new album "The get Together" and let me be the first to start the standing ovation. Its what UK Hip Hop needs at this time...pure fire! Ed's is one of the most consistent producers for 15 years now and never lets the listener down when their looking for a proper Hip Hop beat. And Conspicuous spits the rawest like a bulimic after eating sushi.
With top notch guest spots from a fine aray of talent from all over the UK.
I really hope this doesnt get slept on like some of the other classics out over the last few years.
Check out the track BBQ and the youtube vids for a little taster of what i feel has just moved into the top ten UK albums of all time.

Check the track listing:

Evil Ed & Conspicuos "The get Together" (Ottomanelf Music):

1.81's Favourite Son
2. BBQ feat. Seanie T, Doc Brown, Konny Kon, T-Bear, Broke N English (vuts by K-Delight)
3. Marvelous feat. Ric Branson & Grimlok
4. Don't Worry
5. Big Headed feat. Willo Wispa, Mudmouth & Apollo (cuts by Evil Ed)
6. The Get Together
7. Ill-Out feat. Shabaam Sahdeeq, Jehst, Swave Sevah, Dubbledge & L.I.F.E. Long (cuts by Eddie Skratch)
8. Where Did We Go Wrong (skit)
9. You & Me (Never Could Happen)
10. Time After Time feat. Cobane, Shameless & Sir Smurf Lil
11. Sinister (synth by AH Fly)
12. The Night feat. Willo Wispa, Iceman & Yung Blud
13. Forgive & Forget feat. Cal-I
14. Outro (Goodbye)
15. BBQ (remix)

Taster tune BBQ - Grab it HERE
evil ed & conspicuous feat. willo wispa 'the night'

evil ed & conspicuous feat. cobane 'time after time'

Related Posts with Thumbnails